Last year, WhatsApp began working on a new privacy setting that would allow users to hide their ‘profile photos,’ ‘last seen,’ and ‘about’ information from specific contacts in their contact lists.
While it was limited in the beta period, the company has announced that it is now available to all its users worldwide on iPhone and Android devices.
Previously, users had three privacy options for their profile photo, last seen, and about information – Everyone, My Contacts, and Nobody. A fourth option, ‘My contacts except…’, is also available for Status privacy, according to GSM Arena.
With the new option, you can show your WhatsApp profile photo, last seen, and about information to all people in your contact list except those you exclude. However, it’s worth noting that if you don’t share your last seen with others, you won’t be able to see theirs either, just like read receipts, the only difference being that the latter always remains on even when you have turned it off.
You can edit the change by going to WhatsApp’s Settings > Account > Privacy menu on iPhone and Android devices to try this new privacy control.
The company announced a few new group calling features, including the ability to mute others during a group call and the ability to message specific people. A banner will also appear when someone joins a group call offscreen.